Ms. Melloria bagged 7th place during RSPC 2017

CMU senior high school student and Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC) 2nd place winner, Joana Trixy Mae M. Melloria got 7th place during the Regional Schools Press Conference (RSPC) 2017 held on October 21-23 at Liceo de Cagayan University, Cagayan de Oro City.

The RSPC is an annual competition by the Department of Education pursuant to the Campus Journalism Act of 1991. It is the next level of competition after winning in the Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC).

It includes the participation of school paper advisers and student writers for both public and private elementary, secondary, and senior high schools.

Fourteen divisions compete for RSPC to include Bukidnon (all schools excluding Valencia and Malaybalay), Valencia City, Malaybalay, Camiguin, Ozamis, Iligan City, Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Oroquieta, Tangub, El Salvador, Cagayan de Oro City, and Gingoog City.

The CMU-SHS winners from the recently concluded DSPC joined the RSPC. The following students were: Joana Trixy Mae M. Melloria (Copy Reading and Headline Writing), Shanny Ginson (Feature Writing English-Science and Health), and Flora Mae Lauronal (Feature Writing Filipino-Science and Health).

In an interview with Joana Trixy Mae M. Melloria, 7th place in copy reading and headline writing, said that there were 42 students competed [each individual category] for region 10 comprising 14 divisions with three representative each division.

“It was not easy to attain such place since all representatives were chosen as best from the different divisions [under region 10],” she added.

Ms. Melloria underwent personal training and reviewed some notes prior to the competition.

The coaches for Filipino and English categories were Ms. Elsie G. Geraga from the Department of Language Education and Ms. Krysta Marie O. Lariego from the Department of Languages and Literature, respectively.

The winners who got the first three highest ranks under the individual category and those declared as champion under the team events category will proceed to the National Schools Press Conference (NSPC) to be held in Dumaguete City. (MLTalisay)

Check Also

Dr. Cecilia O. Bucayong 3rd place winner for Outstanding Government-Funded Creative Research

[#CMUpride] Congratulations Dr. Cecilia O. Bucayong, 3rd place winner in the Likha Award for Outstanding …