Sunday , 24 January 2021

CMU hosts 5th PhiLTER confab

by: Trixy Vania D. Ricablanca

CMU hosted the 5th Scientific Conference and Workshop on Philippine Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER), Sept. 21-22, at the Farmers Training Center. The theme was “Philippine Long-Term Ecological Research: Status, Updates, and Collaborations.” The scientific conference aimed at encouraging academic and government institutions to establish ecological and biodiversity sites for long-term research and protection. It also served as hub for various trainings of young researchers and students.  The conference united researchers across the country in strengthening research collaboration and sharing current trends in ecological biodiversity research.


The two-day conference was composed of parallel and plenary sessions with the keynote speakers namely, Dr. Victor B. Amoroso, PhiLTERnet national coordinator and CEBREM director; Dr. David Taylor, Department of Geography, National University of Singapore; Mr. Mariano Roy Duya, Institute of Biology, University of the Philippines Diliman; Dr. Rico Ancog, School of Environmental Science and Management, UPLB; and Dr. Edwin S. Fernando, Department of Forest Biological Sciences, UPLB.

The conference gathered 100 participants. A total of 34 papers and 28 posters were presented. The participants were from different universities such as the Agusan Del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology (ASCAT), Bukidnon State University (BukSU), Cagayan De Oro College (COC), Camiguin Polytechnic College (CPSC), Caraga State University (CSU), Central Mindanao University (CMU), Davao Doctors College (DDC), De La Salle University, Eastern Visayas State University (EVSU)-Burmen Campus, Mindanao State University-Maguindanao, Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT), National University of Singapore (NUS), San Agustin Institute of Technology (SAIT), Surigao del Sur State University (SSU), University of Mindanao (UM), University of Southern Mindanao (USM), University of the Philippines Diliman, and University of the Philippines Los Baños. There were also participants from secondary schools, namely, the Bacusanon National High School, Bal-ason National High School, Bukidnon National High School of Home Industries,Gingoog City Comprehensive National High School, Loyola High School, and the Malaybalay City National High School.

Moreover, different departments and local government units participated in the conference. They were the DepEd of Davao City and Valencia City; Local Government Unit- San Isidro, Davao Oriental; Department of Natural Resources XI-PENRO Davao Oriental, Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR)- DOST, and the Philippine Tropical Forest Conservation Foundation. The conference was organized and sponsored by CEBREM, CMU, UP Diliman Institute of Biology, UP Los Baños, PhiLTERnet, Philippine Tropical Forest Conservation Foundation Inc., and GMA Regional TV.



Scroll To Top

Learn about CMU’s response to COVID-19 and our safety plans for limited in-person activity