Monday , 25 January 2021
Aggies win 1st runner-up in 10th FASMIN Congress
Results 10th FASMIN Congress

Aggies win 1st runner-up in 10th FASMIN Congress

By IADalipe

Faculty and student delegates from the College of Agriculture won 1st runner-up in the 10th FASMin Congress and Agri-Development Forum held at Mindanao State University-Naawan last Jan. 30 to Feb. 3.

The university sent 75 delegates—composed of 23 coaches and 52 students—to participate in 23 events organized by the Federation of Agriculture Students in Mindanao (FASMin).

The events were categorized into three: crop-based skills (22%); animal-based skills (48%); and literary/musical/dance contests (30%).

CMU ranked 1st in the crop-based skills category, and 3rd in both the animal-based skills and literary/musical/dance contests.

The university ranked 2nd over-all, garnering 54.20% in all the categories. Xavier University ranked 1st
(55.40%); Jose Rizal Memorial State University, 3rd (47.80%); and Camiguin Polytechnic State College, 4th (41.80%).

Based on the “Official 10th FASMin Tabulation” shared by Mr. Diorey Potestas of MSU-Naawan, the results of the winning participants in the university are as follows.

Event Participant Coach Award
Seeds Identification Julius Degracia Ms. Jean Vallecer 3rd
Weeds Identification Gleny Mai Destinado Dr. Nenita Baldo 3rd
Fertilizer Identification Ariel Armilla Dr. Fe J. Lagas 4th
Fertilizer Computation Khristian Balila Prof. Editha Agus 4th
Pasture and Forage Identification Dionrill C. Noja Dr. Niña Mae Villar 1st
Feed Formulation Reyche Ruiz Mr. John Donald Quisil 1st
Feed Stuff Identification Christian Colinares Dr. Ma. Luz L. Soriano 4th
Live Weight Estimation Arnel Agusan Prof. Eduardo V. Lagua 3rd
Dish Garden Jonathan Butron Ms. Ma. Joverly M. Abello 2nd
Flower Arrangement Alfie Angelo Bayhonan Ms. Ma. Joverly M. Abello 1st
Plant Population Density Jolina Gono Prof. Raul E. Margate 1st
Diversified Farming Jason C. Gambuta & Janine Dorado Ms. Raquel Salingay 1st
On-the-spot Essay Writing Gearven Losaria Prof. Ele Lunzaga 2nd
Concept Paper Ryan Christian Guiritan Ms. Cyd Cherisse U. Gayunan 3rd
Battle of the Brains Christopher Capito, Bryan Kevin Fallares, Anthony Rabanes & Angelica P. Maderse Prof. Helen M. Ebuña 3rd
Mr. & Ms. FASMin Princess Christianne Chua &Francis Karl Remo Ms. Josephine L. Arbes 3rd and 4th respectively
Vocal Solo Ferey Jane Vocis Mr. King Jehu II Radaza 3rd
Vocal Duets Juliet Iman & John Neumann P. Madroña Mr. King Jehu II Radaza 2nd
Rodeo Skills:
One-Man Lassoing Throwing Down, Tying Ma. Janel RabagoMichelle GulbenMarianne Jean CabahugReymie Rose Lamag

Rizaly Omerso

Philip Padilla

Edgardo Suizo

Jenefer Foy Lagunlay

Rodney Talle

Joshua Roldan Navarra

Mr. Jimmy CabadorMr. Arth David Sol Ortega 1st
One-Woman Lassoing, Tying to Nearest Post 3rd
Two-Men Carambola 1st
Two-Women Carambola 1st
Four-Men Carambola 2nd
Four-Women Carambola 3rd
Load Carrying (MEN) 4th
Load Carrying (WOMEN) 4th
Whip Cracking (MEN) 4th

Dean Caezar Sabaña, chairperson of the College of Agriculture Student Council (COASCO), said this event is “a good avenue to mold CMU Agriculture students into competitive individuals with good social relationships.”

Other universities that participated in the Congress were Mindanao State University-Naawan (MSU-N), Caraga State University (CSU), Misamis University (MU), Mountain View College (MVC), and University of Science & Technology of Southern Philippines-Claveria Campus (USTP-Claveria).

This year’s theme was dubbed “Food and Nutrition Security Amidst Challenges in Climate Change.”

Scroll To Top

Learn about CMU’s response to COVID-19 and our safety plans for limited in-person activity