College of Agriculture Graduate Program Accreditors

17 aggie programs undergo accreditation

By TVDRicablanca

The quest for quality education continues with AACCUP visiting the university for the fourth time this year. Seventeen (17) graduate programs of the College of Agriculture are subjected to Level III-Phase 2 accreditation survey on Dec. 12-13.

The programs include: MS and Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics; MS and Ph.D. in Agricultural Education; MS and Ph.D. in Agricultural Extension; MS and Ph.D. in Agronomy; MS and Ph.D. in Animal Science; MS and Ph.D. in
Entomology; MS and Ph.D. in Horticulture; MS and Ph.D. in Plant Pathology; lastly, MS and Ph.D. in Soil Science.

There were a total of 14 accreditors, namely: Dr. Manuel T. Corpus, overall coordinator; Dr. Marcelina O. Bahalla, Dr. May Eva Z. Garcia, and Dr. Anita C. Sornito of the University of Southern Mindanao (USM); Dr. Amparo B. Lacandula and Dr. Winda B. Cejas of the University of Southeastern Philippines (Usep); and Dr. Lydia P. Libunao and Dr. Marina R. Sabado of the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University.

Other accreditors are Dr. Shiela G. Reyes (Agusan del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology); Dr. Samsia I. Beduya (Cotabato State Polytechnic College); Dr. Jenet B. Fuentes (Sorsogon State College); Dr. Mario S. Suba (Central Luzon State University); Dr. Jonar I. Yago (Nueva Vizcaya State University); and Dr. Lilibeth B. Laranang (Tarlac Agricultural University).

AACCUP 12 12 16

In the opening program, Dr. Judith D. Intong, Vice President for Academic Affairs, said, “We are doing this accreditation simultaneously with our application for ISO certification, [and] we are also preparing for the institutional accreditation and the institutional sustainability assessment.”

Though she said that the quest for excellence is a continuous, tedious and energy draining process, she believes that this also manifests the long-term partnership of AACCUP and the University towards one goal, quality education.

“We invested and committed our resources, energy, expertise and our enthusiasm into these endeavors as we believe that this is the way to become competitive,” Dr. Intong stressed. “This is to stay relevant and to be of better service to the Filipino people and to ASEAN.”

Aside from the speech given by Dr. Intong, the opening program consisted of the presentation of the CMU key officials and members of the Local Task Force given by Dr. Nenita I. Prado, chief of Quality Assurance office; presentation of the accreditation team by Dr. Corpus; and the intermission numbers given by the Bidlisiw Indigenous Dance Troupe.


Check Also

Closing meeting of the AACCUP Program Accreditation Survey Visit

[AT THE MOMENT] Closing meeting of the AACCUP Program Accreditation Survey Visit at the Farmers …