Wednesday , 27 January 2021
Student Honorees and Awardees: CMU’s Pride

Student Honorees and Awardees: CMU’s Pride

student honorees and awardees 1Brilliance and excellence filled the University Convention Center’s (UCC) atmosphere at Central Mindanao University, Musuan, Bukidnon during the Annual Recognition and Honors Program on February 7, 2013. The activity was themed “Overcoming Challenges, Building Resilience, Sustaining Excellence” with Dr. Rosalito A. Quirino as guest speaker.

The activity aimed to recognize the student honorees, board topnotchers, Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) awardee, and special awardees for their exemplary performances as CMU pride in its quest for academic excellence in the country.

Every year, CMU student honorees and awardees increase as CMU takes one step higher in fulfilling some of its mandates to: provide advance instruction by increasing students’ knowledge and understanding in all areas of expertise, provide students several scholarship grants, and hire competent faculty. Hence, CMU recognized 308 student honorees with 33 University honors, 246 college honors and 29 freshmen awardees.

Ms. Janua Polinar, TOSP awardee with the CMU President, Dr. Maria Luisa R. Soliven; OSA Director, Dr. Alan P. Dargantes; and SSC President, Grant M. AmoncioMoreover, three board topnotchers were recognized from the College of Agriculture and Engineering. Dr. Carolina D. Amper as first placer and Mr. Alfritz Ceballos as 9th placer for the Licensure Examination for Agriculturists (2012) and Engr. Jake Bonn Dumpasan as 3rd placer for the Licensure Examination for Civil Engineers (2012). CMU is honored and proud of Ms. Maria Janua B. Polinar, an AB Political Science Magna cum Laude, as one of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) awardees.

The honors program also opened CMU the ground to recognize the special awardees. Mr. Gomer Jay S. Legaspi, AB English 4, was awarded as Outstanding Student Leader of the year; Mr. Terence Al L. Abaquita, BSA Entomology 4, Outstanding Student Writer of the year; Biological Society (BioSoc) and League of Political Science Students (LPSS), Outstanding Class Organizations of the year; College of Home Economics Student Council (COHESCO), Outstanding College Student Council of the year; Mr. Christian U. Quering, BS Agronomy 4, Outstanding Athlete of the year; Mr. Jun Bert Vivas, BSE-PE 4, Performing Artist of the year; Cdt COL Alvin C. Ceros, BSME 3, ROTC Cadet of the year and Cdtte LTC Grace Jane A. Laid, BSAE 3, ROTC Cadette of the year; and Hon. Grant M. Amoncio, DVM 6 garnered the Presidential Leadership Award.

student honorees and awardees 2Being the academic paradise of higher learning, the university frontliners are making CMU indispensible in sustaining the distinction it has sown since the beginning of its journey towards excellence. And even these days, the university began reaping the fruits of its endeavor in nurturing high-caliber students. Hence, CMU is proud of Dr. Quirino, this year’s guest speaker for the great pride it brought to his Alma Mater. The guest speaker encouraged the student honorees and awardees to honor their parents. “The parents play an enormous role in the students’ accomplishments,” said Dr. Quirino. He challenged the student honorees to cherish every moment they have with their parents. Also, Dr. Quirino imparted that the secrets in achieving life’s greatest victory is optimistic behavior and winning attitude.

The guest speaker expressed his gratitude to CMU for giving him the opportunity to inspire students and he congratulated the University for growing enormously. At present, Dr. Quirino pilots Misamis Oriental State College of Agriculture and Technology (MOSCAT) as president. He ended his speech with a verse that says “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” (Matthew 6:33) and explained that people are created for one purpose, that is, to glorify God by seeking Him first above all else.

The vice presidents, university registrar, instruction director, college deans, student affairs, awardees, faculty, parents and some students took part in the university’s annual recognition and honors program (RGPadoginog).

Scroll To Top

Learn about CMU’s response to COVID-19 and our safety plans for limited in-person activity