Monday , 25 January 2021
Employees, Awardees showcase ASEAN attire

Employees, Awardees showcase ASEAN attire

Stunning beauty. Glamorous ASEAN attire. Glittering charm. These described the CMU faculty and staff in their best ASEAN attire during the Employees’ Awards Night at the University Convention Center, September 13.

Employees’ Awards Night highlighted the untiring service of the distinguished faculty and staff who have rendered service to CMU for ten years and more. The awardees were recognized during the event as part of the 108th Unified Foundation Celebration and Alumni Homecoming.

In accordance with the Program on Awards and Incentives for Service Excellence (PRAISE), the Human Resource and Management Office (HRMO) facilitated the Search for the Outstanding Employees. It also acknowledged the exemplary contribution of employee awardees in a nomination process.

This years’ celebration was held under the theme “Embracing ASEAN Integration: CMU’s Role in Advancing Inclusive Education. “The search for outstanding faculty and staff has started since 2015. The nominee’s relevant documents were screened by the PRAISE committee.

Dir. Lourdes B. Pelaez, Director II of Civil Service Commission Field Office graced the event as the guest speaker. In her inspirational talk, she encouraged civil servants to support the celebration on its 118th year anniversary of the Philippine Civil Service.

According to her, Filipinos are excellent, talented, capable and can survive in whatever adversities. “We have proven ourselves to the world that we are a country that has all the makings of greatness,” Dir. Pelaez added.

She said: “It is commendable for CMU to have this program like the search for outstanding civil servants… in CMU it is very difficult to screen, many are nominated but few are chosen.”

Dir. Pelaez emphasized the challenges of ASEAN integration in the global arena. “There are forces of standards, international set of standards that we have to cope with, and that we have to live with,” Dir. Pelaez cited.

The awarding was divided into two parts: the presentation of loyalty awardees who rendered ten years onwards and the awarding of faculty and staff. There were two categories for the outstanding employees’ awards: for faculty – Outstanding Instructor, Outstanding Assistant Professor, and Outstanding Professor; and for staff – Outstanding Administrative Aide, Outstanding Administrative Assistant, Outstanding Administrative staff, and Outstanding Administrative Officer.

Dr. Emmanuel P. Leaño, awardee from the College of Arts and Sciences (Professor Category) gave thanks to the CMU administration and community for the award received.

As employees showed off their best attire of the night, another distinct award was given to Ms. Ma. Viviene J. Segumpan-Salon and Mr. Rustan Jay O. Bucag from the College of Education as the ‘Darling of the Crowd.’

Moreover, Dr. Athena Jan I. Derayunan from the College of Arts and Sciences and Mr. Bobby D. Visayan, University and Board Secretary were awarded as the ‘Best ASEAN attire’ for female category and male category, respectively.

After the giving of tokens and plaques to the awardees, the program was followed by a fellowship dinner together with the CMU key officials.(MJTalisay)

Here is the list of Outstanding Employees and Special Awardees:


Instructor Category                         Ms. Shiela Mae L. Poliran              College of Business and Management

Assistant Professor Category      Dr. Queenie Ann L. Curayag        College of Human Ecology

Assistant Professor Category      Dr. Teresita H. Borres                     College of Education

Professor Category                         Dr. Emmanuel P. Leaño                 College of Arts and Sciences


Administrative Aide Category

First Place                                            Mr. Justice J. Cuchapin                  College of Arts and Sciences

Second Place                                      Mr. Esterlito E. Tabamo                 Accounting Office

Third Place                                          Mr. Semonico Z. Cañete                               Auxiliary Office

Administrative Staff Category

First Place                                            Ms. Helen E. Panganiban              University Extension Office

Second Place                                      Ms. Leizel R. Jupakkal                     University Research Office

Third Place                                          Ms. Vanissa B. Gutang                   University Planning and Dev’t Office

Administrative Assistant Category

First Place                                            Ms. Conrada P. Yecyec                  University Extension Office

Administrative Officer Category

First Place                                            Ms. Iris D. Opiso                        Financial Management Services Office

Second Place                                      Ms. Alma S. Ilasin                             Office of the VPRDE

Third Place                                          Ms. Marichu M. Bonalos               College of Arts and Sciences


Scroll To Top

Learn about CMU’s response to COVID-19 and our safety plans for limited in-person activity