6 Programs undergo Level IV accreditation

Six undergraduate programs from two colleges undergo Level IV-Phase 1 AACCUP accreditation survey visit, July 16-21.

The programs include AB English, AB Political Science, and BS Chemistry from the College of Arts and Sciences, and BS Agriculture (major in Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Education, Agricultural Extension, Agronomy, Animal Science, Entomology, Horticulture, Plant Breeding, Plant Pathology, and Soil Science), BS Agribusiness Management, and BS Development Communication from the College of Agriculture.

The five-day accreditation aims to heighten the academic program implementation and to guarantee quality standard through rigorous monitoring and evaluation by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP).

Dr. Judith D. Intong, Vice President for Academic Affairs emphasized in her welcome address that the BS Agriculture program is a banner program of the university and is one of the four CHED centers of excellence. β€œWe aim for Level IV as this is the highest accreditation status, and the programs were submitted for re-visitation,” she said.

During the opening program, Dr. Manuel T. Corpus, AACCUP executive director and consultant, reminisced the development process of accreditation in many state universities and colleges way back in 1987. He also commended the cultural presentation by the CMU Bidlisiw Dance Troupe.

Dr. Corpus added: β€œI know you can do it! I have a big trust in your university [since] this is one of the best universities we have.” This week, 13 accreditors conducted rigid observation and evaluation of documents spearheaded by Dr. Danilo S. Hilario, AACCUP overall coordinator from Bulacan State University.

Dr. Hilario introduced the accreditors and expressed his high hopes for this survey visit: β€œβ€¦After the trials and after some tribulations, triumph is just around the corner.”

The six programs will be assessed in ten areas: (1) Vision, Mission, Goals and Objectives; (2) Faculty; (3) Curriculum and Instruction; (4) Students; (5) Research; (6) Extension and Community Involvement; (7) Library; (8) Physical Facilities; (9) Laboratories; and (10) Administration.

Several faculty, staff, guests, and students attended the opening program. (MJTalisay)

Check Also

Celebrating 68 Years of Resilient Maramag: Our Culture, Our Progress, Our Pride

[IN PHOTOS] Members of the CMU Administrative Council and selected officers from the Reserve Officers …